NLDS Day Three

Jon will have the Dodgers game thread, I’m pretty sure, so this is a post for those who want to discuss the Cardinals at Pirates game at 10:30 AM HST, 1:30 PM Pacific, 4:30 PM ET on TBS.

If pitchers were the only criteria, the Pirates would seem to have a slight edge. They’re starting Francisco Liriano:

The veteran lefty has gone 3-0 with a 0.75 ERA against the Cardinals in three starts this year, spinning eight scoreless innings against them his last time facing them on Aug. 30. Overall, Liriano has been masterful at home, going 8-1 with a 1.47 ERA in 11 starts at PNC Park.

But wait!

The Cardinals are countering with [Joe] Kelly, who went 10-2 with a 2.18 ERA in 15 outings since joining the rotation July 6. He made consecutive starts against the Pirates at the beginning of September, winning both by pitching six innings and allowing just one run.

Go Pirates!

  • http://www.linkmeister.com/wordpress/ Linkmeister

    McCutcheon got lucky in the 9th inning. His baserunning error will be forgotten if the Pirates hang on to win after getting those two runs.